Minister appoints new Chairman and eight new members to the Council of the National Council for Special Education (NCSE)


DES: The Minister for Education and Skills Joe McHugh T.D. today announced eight new appointments and appointed Joe Hayes chairman to the National Council for Special Education (NCSE) for 2019-2022.

The Education of Persons with Special Educational Needs (EPSEN) Act 2004 provides for a 13 member NCSE Council (at least six men and six women), including a chairperson.  All of the appointments are made by the Minister.

Following Joe Hayes’ meeting with the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Education and Skills on 29th January, the Minister has today finalised his appointment as chairman, in accordance with the terms of the Guidelines on Appointments to State Boards.

Theme picker